Making My Happiness Easier

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see shadows. It’s what the sunflowers do.” —Helen Keller


Happiness is not always in our control, and as a control freak, that is one of the scariest things I can think of. Being a college student with massive amounts of debt, no promises of a good job, little money in my bank account, and midterms looming over my head, it can be really easy to fall into a hole of depression. I’ve found that while I can’t always choose to be happy, I can always do certain things that make it easier to have happiness in my life.

Keeping my environment clean is one of the easiest ways for me to be relaxed. Mess and clutter can create gloom in everyday life. This doesn’t require as much work as you might think. My recommendation is that if it takes less than five minutes, do right now instead of waiting for it to get worse.

It’s okay to procrastinate a little. I find that giving myself a moment to relax before doing some schoolwork will make it an overall better experience.Watching an episode of a TV show, reading a chapter or two in a good book, or taking a little nap can be beneficial. Being tense when trying to get work done can make it harder to concentrate and can affect the quality of work. But don’t procrastinate too much because that can be harmful as well!

While I love having time to myself, it is very important to make time for friends. Isolation can be toxic, and good friends can boost any mood. Laughing and feeling like you belong is the best solution to the clouds that haunt your mental health.

It’s the little things you do that make happiness a bit easier. I know life may seem to be moving really fast and it’s impossible to be happy all the time, but making time to take care of yourself and your mental health is very important. I hope that these few things can help some of you.

 

 


One thought on “Making My Happiness Easier

  1. Pingback: My Bad Habits

Leave a comment